Extremely Decent “Cheater” Matzo Ball Soup

I’m still sick, and am trying really hard to take care of myself. I like brothy soups but I hate, hate, hate canned brothy soup. Disgusting. I hate most canned soups, actually. I think they are vile. I’ve recently had some really very good matzo ball soup, but it was from an Oakland restaurant and that’s just too far to drive. So I made some. This turned out surprisingly well. I was going to do the whole boil-a-chicken thing to make the stock, but then I thought, “Am I crazy?” Sorry, it’s not even close to vegetarian, but I’m so run-down I don’t really care. I’d like to make a “real” version of this sometime but this turned out really, really good. Hoping it’s the magic cure for this rotten cold.

2 boxes (quarts?) Kitchen Basics regular chicken stock (this is the best pre-made stock, do not even bother with Swanson’s)
2 carrots, peeled and chopped
2-3 stalks celery, including tops, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
1-2 cups sliced mushrooms (I had these in the fridge, they were a welcome addition)
Some dried thyme (1/2 teaspoon?)
Some powdered ginger (1 teas?)
Some powdered coriander (1/2 teas?)
2 bay leaves
1 box matzo ball mix (which needs some oil and 2 eggs)
1 tsp salt (to taste)

Prepare the matzo mix according to the box. It has to sit for a few minutes, so do this first.

Heat some oil in a large soup pot. Add in carrots, celery, and mushrooms (if you are using them).  Saute for a few minutes. Add in minced garlic, saute quickly but don’t let it brown. Add in the two boxes of stock, and the spices. Bring to a boil, then turn down to a simmer.

Form walnut-size balls of the prepared matzo mix. Drop into the simmering soup and let it all cook for about 30 minutes.

Season to taste. Delicious.

4 thoughts on “Extremely Decent “Cheater” Matzo Ball Soup

  1. I’m printing out this recipe right now. It sounds too good to not make and I have the matzo ball mix in my pantry. Thanks — and keep that chin up. You will be just fine. This I know to be true!

    • I hope you liked it! It was best on the first day, I have to say. But decent for when you’re just needing something like that but don’t want to have a five-hour stock-making ordeal. And thanks for the vote of confidence.

Leave a Reply

