I’m back. Now what?

I just got home from a week away. I went to visit family and friends up in Oregon. It was a good trip — packed as usual, although I didn’t feel stressed. I did feel sick most of the time — I’m very tired of this cold. The Cough of Death is still hanging around and I’ve discovered the joys of Nyquil, since at around 7 pm I start to cough and can’t stop. When I got home last night, I coughed so hard that I nearly threw up. That’s always fun. Needless to say, I’m not feeling at my perky-and-energetic best.

So I’m home. And feeling at loose ends. I should unpack. Do laundry. Clean the fridge. Make some soup for the week. All that stuff. Instead, it’s 11 am and I’m still in my bathrobe, feeling slightly stunned and terribly out of it. I just want to go back to bed, actually.

I’m not sure what to do about the house and all that stuff. I’m supposed to talk to T’s sisters this week and figure out what we need to do. In the meantime, I feel like I’m in this weird limbo. I’m sick, which is skewing my thoughts. I’m still wrapped in cotton and feeling slightly bizarre about everything. I’m not sure really what I’m supposed to be doing. I’m vaguely concerned about the house stuff because I can’t afford the mortgage all by myself and T has decided she’s not paying her share anymore (no comments, please), but I’m okay this month and then next month I should hopefully know more and can work out a plan. T is not doing well, apparently, so I’m feeling bad and guilty and sad and concerned. It’s all weird and I’m in limbo.

I’m hardly doing any reading — I just can’t seem to get to it. My current book, Stephen King’s Danse Macabre, is very interesting, but it’s a big book and I’ve been distracted. I’d like for someone to come over and make me a big pot of something healthy that I can eat all week, but I guess it’s up to me to make that big pot of something healthy. I’m considering homemade chicken soup. Although frankly Safeway makes a darn fine chicken noodle soup and I’m really, really out of it. That’s what Safeway is for, right? We’ll see. I should go to the store today and maybe I will come up with an easy soup recipe. It would be good to not have to think about food this week.

It’s the holiday season (apparently) and here’s my plan: show up and eat. I am not doing anything else. I might do a little shopping if I can get my act together. That’s about it. It’s a relief, actually. I’ll just observe this year.

Although I did see a recipe for Mexican Wedding Cookies that piqued my interest. Maybe I’ll make those too. Once I stop coughing. IF I stop coughing. That seems up for debate at this point.

So that’s about it. I’m at loose ends. Still sick. Unsure what to do next. Unable to think very clearly. I think my first priority needs to be to get well. With that in mind, I’m off to look at soup recipes. Soup, laundry, then back in bed for the remainder of the day. Yep. That’s just how it’s going to be this week.

 

4 thoughts on “I’m back. Now what?

  1. Glad you had a nice family visit though I am sorry to hear you still have the cough. When does it become time to see a doctor about it? (sorry, couldn’t help but cluck a little there). You know you will need to sell the house but putting it on the market before New Year’s probably isn’t a good idea. So spend some time making lists and figuring out what you need to do to get it ready to show. Also, be good to yourself and try not to feel any guilt about T being unwell, that is not your fault. Maybe once you start making lists and doing a small project here and there your head will begin to clear a bit. Hugs.

Leave a Reply

