2012 Reading Plan

I have a feeling this year is going to be busy for lots of reasons. I’m not going to set a reading goal this year, but I’m going to follow Stefanie’s lead and list some authors I’d like to read this year. I’d like to add more classics to my brain. So let’s see…

  • I do love Jane Austen and it’s been awhile. I might have to read Persuasion along with Stef.
  • After reading Drood, I really want to read a Dickens. I read Wilkie Collins last year — it’s time to give the other side a turn. Which one? Everyone loves Bleak House… I do love Great Expectations but there’s so many good ones to choose from. Next holiday season I’ll try to read A Christmas Carol.
  • John Steinbeck. I haven’t read any in a very long time. I have always loved Steinbeck; I don’t think I read Cannery Row. Maybe I’ll try that.
  • Henry James: I really want to read his collected Ghost Stories but it’s hard to find. I might have to buy this one.
  • Something by Iris Murdoch.
  • Some more Charles de Lint.
  • Some Ray Bradbury.
  • Another from the very very great Kurt Vonnegut.

Apart from that, let’s just see what goodness the library brings. If I can ever get through another book, that is.

10 thoughts on “2012 Reading Plan

  1. I asked for The Onion Girl and Widdershins for Christmas, but my mom couldn’t find them. Guess it’s up to me to get them for myself. Hello, local bookstores!

    I did NOT like Great Expectations. I read it in high school. I preferred A Tale of Two Cities, although the female protagonist made me want to throw up.

    I will remind you again that you should read some Kate Morton and some Louise Penny. Penny will be hard to find where you live, you might have to come visit me for that :)

  2. Yay! I’ll probably get to Austen sometime in the spring or early summer. I’m thinking the Henry James I might read will be The Ambassadors but not sure yet. People keep recommedning Our Mutual Friend to me but I haven’t decided yet. I’ve read one Iris Murdoch, The Sea, the Sea, and really liked it. You’ll be reading whole books again before you know it!

    • Austen in spring is perfect! I wonder if I’ve read The Sea, The Sea… that sounds familiar. I will have to check it out. Speaking of checking it out, I’m hoping to go to the library tonight and maybe find a book I can actually read. I watched three movies this weekend so I’m hoping this represents a shift!

  3. I started reading Persuasion last year and need to finish it this year. I loved the latest film version and it got me to finally decide to pick up the book. I’ve enjoyed all the other Austen I’ve read.

    A Tale of Two Cities is my favorite Dickens, so I always throw that out there when asked.

    I want to pick up Bradbury’s short story collection October Country this October (I know, its cheesy) to read. His book Dandelion Wine is wonderful.

    And I will for sure be reading more Charles de Lint this year myself. I try to read some every year in the spring. Thankfully the guy is a prolific author.

    Best wishes for your 2012 reading plans, and Happy New Year!

    • I will check out Two Cities! I can’t remember which Dickens I’ve read, now. I’m sure it will come back to me. And October Country in October sounds exactly right. I think it’s time for me to re-read The Little Country by De Lint. I think that was my first one and I loved it. I’m also thinking of rereading Little, Big, which I haven’t read in over 15 years… (not by DeLint, but linked in my mind for some reason…)

  4. This may fall under the category of cheating, but the bbc is doing a really good serial adaptation of “The Mystery of Edwin Drood” right now. I’m watching that and letting myself off the hook for reading it (**don’t tell anyone! :)

  5. I love this idea of planning my reading list for the year. Cannery Row was great as was Grapes of Wrath (always worth a re-read) and The Red Pony. Oh and Travels with Charley… As you can tell I’m a Steinbeck fan…

Leave a Reply

