stroopwafels, here I come!

It’s official: I’m going to Amsterdam in March! Made my reservations with my friend last night. I’m so excited. We may take a short side trip to Belgium as well, or maybe Germany? It doesn’t matter, it’s all good.

I struggle with feeling guilty for going (for many reason) but I figure: I’ve had to say “no” to so many things for a long time, that this feels like a very much needed “yes.” Even though I’m not very rich right now, and even though I feel bad leaving the kitties and work and blah blah blah, I think this trip will be very good for me. I’m going with a close girl friend and we’re staying with her aunt, and I expect it will be wonderful.

I want:

  • to eat really yummy food
  • to have some excellent beer
  • to ride a bike over the bridges and waterways
  • to see a castle or two
  • to remind myself that I am a citizen of the world and not just my little wee routine

Other than that, I’m open. My friend has been many times and is playing tour guide, sending me links of museums and sights that we could consider. I haven’t done ANY research at all, which tells you how out of it I’ve been (although SO much better) — usually I adore trip-planning in all aspects. This time, I feel content to just go along and see whatever comes our way.

As long as there is some coffee and stroopwafels, of course. That’s essential.

It will likely be cold and blustery so I must pack wisely (and warmly). I have just over a month to think about things and plan my packing and what I’d like to do. I think I will pack pencils and sketchbook as well. I’ve always loved the idea of having a sketchbook devoted just to travels. I think that’s a must.

Also: I need book recommendations! What’s a good airplane book? We’ll be looking at guidebooks but I’ll need a big engrossing chunkster for the plane and evenings. This is where a Kindle would come in handy, I suppose, but I haven’t gotten around to getting one of those yet. Thoughts? Favorite travel books? Perhaps Dutch-themed?

9 thoughts on “stroopwafels, here I come!

  1. Woo-hoo! You’re going to have such a good time! Don’t feel guilty at all, you totally deserve to go on this trip! I have no book suggestions at the moment, but I can say that a Kindle is a really handy travel reading option since you can take lots of books to cover any mood you might find yourself in.

  2. The Golden Tulip and Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister. And because I’ve had a crap day and am apparently unable to type (I’ve misspelled almost every word at least once so far) I will stop at that. The Golden Tulip was great.

  3. !!! This is such such such awesome news!!!!! So happy for you Daphne :D and you should totally get yourself a Nook instead of a Kindle :p Kindle’s limit you to using Amazon’s service only from what I understand…with Nook’s you can use all sorts of different ebooks and I love my new Nook Color!! It was $179 with my B&N member discount after taxes which wasn’t too bad…and they make a non color one which is only $99 I think. OMG have so much fun :D If you want some great poetry, Katrina Vandenberg wrote a book that I push on everyone called Atlas that’s heavily influenced by the Netherlands. And you should totally get yourself a moleskine notebook to sketch in :D I’m just so excited for you :D

Leave a Reply

