triscuits

I really love Triscuits but I almost never eat them. I usually end up eating the entire box in one go, which, if you know me, is kind of unusual. I tend to be a saver. I still have Halloween candy, for goodness’ sake (true story. it’s up there, in my cabinet, waiting for me to have an emergency which only Mounds and Reece’s Pieces can remedy). Today is a Triscuits day. I have a box here. I hope to still have some in the box by the end of the day, but I’m not promising anything.

You know how some weeks are hard and other weeks are easy? This is a hard one. A tragedy at my company plus just general busy-ness and burnout. A wee bit of loneliness creeping in (which I’m taking as a good sign, since I’m finally recovered enough to notice that I’m spending most of my time alone). Overly emotional for all kinds of reasons, both physical and situational. Tuesday I felt like I was going to cry, most of the day (there were actual legitimate reasons for that, but still). I feel just generally sort of raw this week. 

Last night I was driving home after a draining day at work. Traffic was terrible, worse than usual. I remembered that I had a small dark chocolate bar in my purse from last week (see? I told you. saver.) I figured this was as good a time as any for that magic chocolate cure. Except, when I opened it, it had crumbed in places and of course I dropped the little package and chocolate shavings fell out onto my work pants and my car seat, instantly melting (and staining). Thank you very much. 

So I got home and treated the stains and did the laundry and fed the cats and made some very simple dinner and watched Nick and Nora’s Infinite Playlist which was totally cheesy but kind of edgy and cute and then I went to bed. 

This morning I woke up and really just felt like hiding in bed all day. Some weeks/days are going to be like that. 

In which case, it’s time to pull out the tricks. Triscuits. Maybe some more chocolate this afternoon. Tonight I’m going to start watching Game of Thrones, which I’m looking forward to as I enjoyed the first book. I’ll try to go to bed early. The lilacs are starting to bloom; maybe I can cut some and bring them in. 

This weekend is supposed to be absolutely beautiful. Maybe I will ride my bike out in the country for a few hours. Maybe I will finish that painting I started, which has been on my mind lately. Maybe I’ll spend a day in bed. I’m sure I’ll feel better by the end of the weekend. The hormonal influences will have cleared up by then. I’ll get some rest. I’ll see a friend. I made chocolate chess pie last weekend and it was so amazingly good. Maybe I’ll make another dessert this weekend. Make some good food, maybe a veggie curry. Maybe pull out the old Moosewood Cookbook and see if there’s something fun in there. 

I did get We Need To Talk About Kevin, so I’ll start that, too. 

It’ll be okay. It’s just a Triscuit kind of week. 

8 thoughts on “triscuits

  1. Sending good vibes your way…… Days like that linger with me too long and I have to focus on shaking them off quick!

    I just bought Game of Thrones and will start it after the Hunger Games trilogy… My friend loooooooved We Need to Talk ABout Kevin as well but it may not be for me. I look forward to hearing your take on it.

  2. Sometimes you need a box of Triscuits. James and I always have a bar of “emergency chocolate” on hand. It’s amazing how a square of extra dark chocolate can make things better at least for a little while.

Leave a Reply

