before and after

I’ve still got Finn while T. continues to look for a place. In the meantime, he needed his teeth cleaned and he desperately needed a haircut. He has the thickest, softest, dense-est coat I’ve ever seen on a cat. When we got him, he was all malnourished and his coat was thin. Then it all came in at once, and before I knew it, his undercoat was completely matted. Even though I groomed him every day, I couldn’t get to the matted undercoat. So, it was time for that Funny or Sad classic: the lion cut.

But first, Finn when we first got him from the shelter:

So little! The tail — so scrawny!

Then came winter, and his coat fully came in. Holy crap:

And finally, this morning:

And now, tonight (still a bit wobbly from the anesthesia from getting his teeth cleaned). I can barely believe it’s the same cat.

Don’t worry, Finn, it will grow back. At least he still has his amazing tail. The little pot belly and the fluffy boots are just killing me. Funny AND sad.

5 thoughts on “before and after

  1. OMG, he’s like one big puffball! And that amazing tail! The ever sad and hilarious lion cut, I know it well. Our cat Kamir had it a few times after he became diabetic because, while never much at grooming anyway, almost stopped grooming completely and no amount of daily brushing could keep away the mats. Hi slittle pot belly is adorable.

    • He’s so adorable. This morning I had to tear myself away from petting him because he is so velvety. He’s feeling better but still a little wobbly; hopefully he’ll just sleep today. The little belly is so wrinkly and cute!

  2. That is too funny, I have a friend who has to do that all the time for the same reasons– she grooms him all the time and yet he still gets all matted up. I bet he’s cooler in the summer too…. :)

Leave a Reply

