it’s a secret that I think your idea is bad

Can you spot me? (hint: middle row) This is my kindergarten photo. 1979. Yes!

My 20th high school reunion is on July 7th. I’m planning it. I’m from a very small town, and half the kids I graduated with attended all 13 years of school together. We’re tight-knit, as reunion groups go. So people want this thing to happen. I have some help (one lone helper…), but this is stressing me out. People do NOT communicate well. I have resorted to bombarding people with increasingly shrill emails and Facebook messages in a valiant attempt to figure out who is coming to which event.

I have also been informed that many people feel the ticket price for the formal dinner/dance/event was too high ($40). However, no one bothered to share that with me, and I had put the formal dinner together because the general consensus was that people wanted “something nice.” However, they do not want to pay for “something nice.” Which is completely fine and understandable, but if someone would have just said… “Maybe we could do a pizza night instead?” I would have jumped on it.

So now, since hardly anyone has RSVP’d… you guessed it! I’m on the verge of canceling the fancy dinner and pulling together a last-minute pizza party. Pizza places always have banquet rooms (sometimes for free) and it’s pretty easy to pull together a pizza party with little notice. I’m completely fine with this — I’m just upset that no one bothered to give me feedback, even as I BEGGED for feedback. This is not the first time I’ve noticed this phenomenon.

It will be fun. People will come. Right? I’m Class President and I have the power, so I can just say, “Screw ya’ll!” and cancel the whole thing if that seems necessary, so really, it will be fine either way.

However, for our 30th reunion? I think it’s going to be bar night on Friday, and pizza night on Saturday, and call it good. And guess what? THAT will be the time when people will grumble about it ‘being kind of cheap.’

(people! if your class is having a reunion and you don’t want to come — please just tell the organizer that! If you want to be extra-nice, let them know WHY. Maybe it can be fixed.)

9 thoughts on “it’s a secret that I think your idea is bad

  1. I’m constantly astounded by people’s social rudeness… I’m so sorry you’re having to deal with this. I hope you have FUN at the dinner or the pizza event!

    My 20th reunion cost like $100 for a grody buffet dinner and lame DJ. Plus parking ($20) and no-host drinks ($12-15) out of a class of 800 there were probably 100 people there (including sig others)

    • I know. It is crazy. I think if I do the pizza thing, it will be much less stressful and therefore, more fun for me, which at this point, is all I care about. Your reunion sounds like what I would expect for the non-reaction I’m getting… but whatever. It will be fine.

  2. What a small class and so many more boys than girls! I’ve not been to any of my high school reunions. My class was large and we are far flung and the people I would want to see don’t go so I stay away too. Sorry all the planning for yours is on your shoulders. I think the pizza party idea is great!

  3. are you blue dress with red bow?

    i don’t think $40 is that high. my last reunion was held out at a resort on sanibel. just the dinner was $50 a person and they wanted everyone to get rooms at the resort so that it could be an all night beach party. needless to say i didn’t go and when i finally tracked someone down who did go, i hear turnout wasn’t big.

    i think your even sounds nice and I’m sorry people are being jerks about the whole thing.

  4. YOu were so cute! Once I got over the idea that in 1979 I was just about to graduate from high school, you were just entering it…. lol I didn’t go to my 20th high school reunion, my son had been born a few months before and we had two funerals to attend right before the reunion. That was the excuse I gave,the real reason was I had gained so much weight I just couldn’t face everyone (I hate saying it even now) and the few people I wanted to, I still had contact with. Still, now that I look back, I wish I had gone, it would have been fun to see my high school and see my classmates.. I know now I”m not the only one who’s changed!

    I hope you end up having a better time than it appears to be shaping up to be, Daphne, and that the pizza party is a success ;-)

Leave a Reply

