A bathroom paint fix. And a few other things.

Turns out the solution to my paint problem was right in front of my eyes… literally. I realized that the extremely neutral off-white that’s painted throughout the house would be perfect in the bathroom (why did it take me almost three years to realize this?). I also happened to have a full gallon of semi-gloss of this shade (I don’t know the name of it — I need to take it to the paint shop and find out what it is) in the garage, ready to go. So this morning, I abruptly decided to re-paint the walls. I left the ceiling and skylight shaft the bright white, which make the project easier. It looks so much better now. ImageImage

Next up: replace the ugly sink fixtures with something shiny and pretty, put in shelves instead of the hutch, and I think that’s about it. Then this bathroom will be “done enough” for the time being and I can stop thinking about it. Next up: master bathroom!

What else have I been up to? I finally went to Yosemite. Loved it. Went with best friend and her kids. It was truly stunning. I can’t wait to go back. So sad to hear about the huge fire raging there right now. 

ImageBeen reading too, but not as much as I’d like. Life getting in the way and all that. I’m currently reading A Discovery of Witches, which is kind of silly but just what I’m in the mood for right now. Up next is The Snow Child which I expect to be amazing. I can’t wait to read it. Other recent reads include The Ocean At The End Of The Lane and Hallucinations. Both excellent. 

We went camping. It was really nice to get away for the weekend. The boy looks incredibly bored in this photo but actually he had a great time as well. We went swimming in the river, made s’mores, stayed up late talking ’round the fire… it was perfect. I don’t know if we’ll get a chance to go again this year or not, but we are already thinking of where to go next year. Image

The garden is doing well too! I got all these peppers all at once. We roasted them on the grill with a balsamic vinaigrette and they were seriously amazing. (there are some cukes and tomatoes in the basket as well)

ImageAnd summer continues to go by… it’s been a good one. I haven’t blogged much lately. Too busy living. I don’t know what will become of this space — maybe just periodic updates like this one, for the sake of posterity. Maybe I’ll come back to it later when I have more things to say. I just don’t seem to have time for it right now, which is okay. I’d rather be gardening or camping or painting or cooking or hiking anyway, right?

And in case you’re wondering, Thomas is doing well too. The cutie. 

Image

 

 

6 thoughts on “A bathroom paint fix. And a few other things.

  1. It is amazing! I loved it. The bathroom looks better in person than it does here. I’m just glad to find a solution that doesn’t require pulling out the shower stall… ugh. It’ll never be featured in House Beautiful but at least I don’t cringe when I walk in anymore!

  2. Can’t wait to hear what you think of Discovery of Witches. Did I tell you I read it earlier this summer? I didn’t realize it was the first in a series, and I started getting near the end going,”Wait, there are like 30 pages left and they’re nowhere NEAR resolving this!” I hated the end until I realized it wasn’t really the end.

  3. I feel the same way about my blog these days…totally agree with you.

    I’m reading Shift, the prequel to Wool and it is so, so good! If you like sci-fi…Haven’t heard of the Witches book, I’ll check it out……

Leave a Reply

