A few book thoughts, and Kindle upgrade?

I’ve been reading a few books.

1. The Art of Happiness by The Dalai Lama (and some other guy). I know, it’s utterly blasphemous to say this, but it’s… boring.  Not that the *message* is boring, because it’s not. The Dalai Lama is pretty much the best person on earth, period. And everything he says comes out so light-hearted and fresh; that part is great. The other part (the “other guy” parts) is so dull and plodding and is just really… slow. And uninteresting. How can you make the Dalai Lama boring?! I don’t know, but this guy did. I don’t even remember his name, that’s how uninteresting it is. Probably not going to finish this, although I might leaf through it some more.

2. Henry and June, Anais Nin. This, however — fabulous. Her unexpurgated journal entries from the period of when she had a tempestuous affair with Henry Miller and some pretty interesting involvements with his wife, June. Oh, and her husband, Hugo. All in 1930 Paris. It’s… pretty much the exact opposite of boring. I’ve never really read Nin, but this is really pretty terrific stuff. Love it. I want to be a frisky young wife in 1930s Paris and have an affair with a hunky writer! Well, maybe not. But it’s pretty fun to read about it!

3. The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich. Umm… what? Well, we’re going to Deutschland in a few weeks and I’m kind of fascinated with the Nazis and WWII, and this book has been recommended so many times. So I started it, just to get a fuller sense of history before we went. It is REALLY good. Not dry at all, very interesting, written like a novel but full of super-interesting facts about Hitler and how everything happened. According to the Kindle I’m only 4% into the book but it’s already really gripped me. It’s also 1200+ pages so I’m not sure I can get it done before we go, but so far so good.

Some other books I’m looking forward to: the Jim Henson biography that just came out, and Bellman and Black by Diane Setterfield. I’m saving those for the trip — perfect airplane books!!

Speaking of books and Kindles, I’m considering upgrading my Kindle to a Paperwhite. I have the super-basic Kindle which I really like, but the lack of a light can be a hassle when traveling (or trying to read about Nazis deep into the night when someone else is trying to sleep). I have a booklight but it’s awkward and won’t stay clipped to the Kindle. And I like that the Paperwhite has even longer battery power. Thoughts? Anyone have a Paperwhite? I’m hoping it will go on sale on Black Friday.

I’m trying to keep up on my magazines as well. Silly, I know, but they sit around and then I can’t remember if I’ve read them or not, and then they sit around some more, and then I’m looking at the July edition of Martha Stewart’s Living in November. So I’m just trying to keep up on them, and I think I’m going to narrow down subscriptions to just Martha Stewart (which I love just for the photos and recipes — not that I do ANY of the things she recommends, but the whole magazine just makes me feel cozy) and *possibly* Real Simple, which is entertaining and I do use the recipes sometimes. I get Oprah but I’m totally sick of her. Somehow I also get a free subscription to Redbook, which is strange. Not sure how to cancel that; I don’t really read it. We get some other subscriptions to newsy/culture magazines (New Yorker, Atlantic, etc.) and those are nice to have around. But I’m pretty tired of Miss Oprah.

I think that’s about it for now. Other than booktalk, everything is going pretty well. The yard is a big mess (all the leaves came down at once and then it rained) but the house is cozy and Thomas is terrific and the boy is the best boy ever. So all is well.

7 thoughts on “A few book thoughts, and Kindle upgrade?

  1. So, a lot of light reading then. ;)

    I have the Kindle Fire HD and love it. Like being able to use it for Facebook and other similar things, has great settings for reading in dark and light, easy on the eyes, etc. I’m sure the Paperwhite is probably great.

  2. You’re going to Germany in a few weeks?! That’s totally awesome! I am so behind on my magazine reading I have decided to not renew any subscriptions. I am sad about that but you know I’m reading July’s Organic Gardening in November and that’s just plain sad.

    • We are! We are going to Germany over the Christmas/Solstice holidays. Should be very fun (and cold!). I used to love getting Better Homes and Gardens (for ideas) but my subscription ran out and I just haven’t renewed… I probably won’t. Too much paper, too many magazines. Takes away from precious book-time!

  3. Let me know if you like the Paperwhite. I love my Kindle, but being able to read in the dark without the eyestrain associated with reading on a computer would be very nice.

  4. I have a Kobo, which I guess is the Canadian version of a Kindle, and it has a light. I love it for that – reading at night. I took it on our camping trip this summer and that meant I could read at night.

  5. Hmmm. I have been considering getting a Paperwhite for awhile so I look forward to seeing what you think of it.
    p.s. Just finished Ready Player One and it was great! A real love letter to the 80s…

Leave a Reply

